bridalterew.blogg.se

Woodworking cad with wood dimensions
Woodworking cad with wood dimensions






woodworking cad with wood dimensions
  1. #WOODWORKING CAD WITH WOOD DIMENSIONS FOR FREE#
  2. #WOODWORKING CAD WITH WOOD DIMENSIONS UPDATE#
  3. #WOODWORKING CAD WITH WOOD DIMENSIONS PLUS#

So if you have already created your build sheets and drawings but need to change a parameter, the drawings automatically update as well. Another good feature about Fusion 360 is that you can create detailed exploded view drawings and technical drawings for your pieces and these drawings reference your parameters that are set up in your design. You would just change your parameter and your whole cabinet would adjust accordingly … that’s if you designed it using parametric modeling. This comes in handy if you need to make an adjustment to the overall height, width or depth.

woodworking cad with wood dimensions

When designing the face frame, instead of typing in 36 inches as the length of your stile, I would just reference the parameter I set up at the beginning. So instead of just saying I want my face frame stile 36 inches long, I would define a variable called height and set it 36 inches. For example, if you set up three parameters for height, width and depth you would reference those while designing your pieces. This allows you to go in and set up parameters for different aspects of the project and reference these variables while you design. The way I design my pieces - and this is actually how Fusion 360 is built - is with something called parametric modeling or parametric design.

#WOODWORKING CAD WITH WOOD DIMENSIONS FOR FREE#

This program is great because there are ample resources available for free via YouTube and because of how you can design your pieces with the software. Another good choice would be Fusion 360 by AutoDesk.

#WOODWORKING CAD WITH WOOD DIMENSIONS PLUS#

It really is a good starting point, plus there are ample resources available for SketchUp. “You mentioned SketchUp, and I think that is a really great place to start even though they have increased their prices and it’s no long free for the stand-alone version. In a nutshell, that is my expertise in CAD, both 2D and 3D.” – Fred Patterson I also have used CATIA which is a very powerful suite of CAD/CAM/CAE products that in the early 2000’s was $25,000 per seat. My go-to has always been Autodesk and their line of CAD products. I have heard of SOLIDWORKS, but I am not familiar with them. SketchUp is doing the same thing as of November 2020. It seems what I found that I wanted was that and more. I couldn’t justify it and started looking around for something else. For example, AutoCAD LT was going to cost me $425. It seems that everyone in CAD is moving from a desktop one-time purchase to the more expensive SaaS (Software as a Service) business model. Where I am having difficulty now is the cost. Most CAD programs are very similar, so moving from one to another is not much of a problem. As with anything new, there is a learning curve and it takes time and devotion to learn. I could do it faster that way until I took the time to learn CAD. Like you, I was a pencil-and-paper type of guy. “For more than 20 years I was a machinist and had the opportunity to work with several CAD programs during that time. Be bold and jump in with both feet.” – bobrakarj2

woodworking cad with wood dimensions

SketchUp is much easier to learn and gives you everything in 3D. I know Jay Bates uses SketchUp for a lot of his layout and design, but I’m not sure if that is what he imports to his CNC’s interface. If you are going to use a CAD program to interface with a CNC, then I believe it should be a robust program. “I have been using IMSI’s TurboCAD since its early days, so I am pretty comfortable with it, but any CAD program that gives you the functionality of complete control is going to have a steep learning curve. Here’s what a number of you have to say on the matter. Last week Rob wondered what your experiences and opinions are about CAD programs.








Woodworking cad with wood dimensions